supaheader

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Please read and help with tough decision

I need some advice from the semi-pro community.

I am an owner of semi pro team and have a very difficult, but at the same time simple decision to make.

Here is the dilemma: One of my players chose to play with another team for a tournament. We still have one more game to play, but in our bye week he plays for this team. The team that he went to play for is our most bitter rival. I saw the player suited up for the other team with my own eyes, and he saw me. He never said anything, instead he tried to hide. Our team has gone through great ups and downs, and always stuck together. I was shocked and disappointed to see one of our most valued and liked guys playing for our enemy (for lack of a better word; however there is considerable bad blood between the two teams). I viewed this as an act of betrayal and disloyalty.

The player has not even had the decency to call me and to acknowledge his actions. Instead, he told players he did not know that we had anymore games, and he simply just wanted to keep playing (we have already played 15 games and a championship game). He is not telling the truth, he was fully aware of our game. What should be done in this matter?

I have left out names of players and teams in order to get an honest, unbiased opinion.
Please help with meaningful, respectful comments.

Thanks

Re: Please read and help with tough decision

I WOULD NOT GO FURTHER WITH IT. GOOD PLAYER OR NOT HE BETRAYED YOU AND THE TEAM. I WOULD LET HIM GO JUST FOR BETTER REASON THAT HE WENT TO PLAY WITH A RIVAL AND TRIED TO HIDE. YOU JOIN WITH A TEAM YOU STAY WITH A TEAM!!!!

MY OPINION

This has everything to do with loyalty and mutual respect. Loyalty from your player and mutual respect from the other team owner, rival or not.