supaheader

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Rule Book,,,

Just a thought, I think it would be swell that we(as in EVERYONE) would have unlimited access to the "offical rules" to the IFL. I will be the last to "go after an official" but I would just like to be on the same page as them. Perhaps on the IFL website or on this website, it would be great. Now, if the answer to this is "it's combined RULES of THREE different types of football" then I believe we all should question that methodology of why it is that way. We are adults---most of us should be out of high school to say the least, so high school rules should not apply. Some of us are college grads or never had the opportunity to attend a secondary school, so college rules could be an option. Now, rules of the NFL...we are SEMI-PRO, most of us follow the NFL, so why not just make it NFL rules. It is just a thought, I am new to semi-pro this year, but I have never seen this much strife towards officiating, regardless of quality.

I was impressed when I first heard there were actual officials, let alone 5, at a game. I was thrilled, until I have experienced the lack of consistency among the officiating crews from week to week.

Let me know about other opinions and then maybe we all can actually be part of the solution, instead of complaining about the problem.

Re: Rule Book,,,

Not in the IFL, but I can comment on why semi pro leagues don't use full-fledged NFL rules. Most ref crews do not know how to enforce them properly or consistently. I have sat in meetings where this has been discussed extensively. The worst thing is to have one ref crew on a given day enforcing a rule one way and another crew at another game doing it completely different. Keep in mind that these guys in a couple weeks will be doing a game on Friday night at a high school somewhere and then reffing your game on Saturday.