EP GRIDIRON
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
So how does Franklin get back to its old days?

From 1997-2006, Franklin never had a losing season. Their worst record was 5-5 in Tony Grijalva's last season.

After Walker took over in 2007, it's been a roller coaster, including some DCs (or one..I forget) in the early 2010s. I've been pretty supportive of Walker, but since 2015, Franklin has not been the same. Something is alarming when the Freshman and JV teams are amazing, but when they get to Varsity, it's a totally different story. You have Lincoln, Brown and Hornedo feeding into Franklin...what else is missing? I understand some schools go through 'rebuilding' years, but this is more than one year of 'rebuilding.'

I've been posting on here since 2004 and never did I think I would be starting a thread named 'So how does Franklin get back to its old days?'

I love Franklin, but it feels weird when the norm is to have a mediocre/losing season. Back then, Franklin losing one game to El Paso schools was very rare.

Re: So how does Franklin get back to its old days?

Brother I've been mulling this over in my head pretty heavily as of late as well. It's a tough one, especially since the Glory days were like night and day. Shut out wins were the norm, all of the Franklin paraphernalia had that classic Black Swarm embossed proudly. Hell even the training regimen was different, the weight room and rotation were proven. Then again those teams also had pro-style offenses and a 4-3 defense....with today's spread offenses...is it even worth going back to those systems?

Never will Franklin get back to its old days for why would they want to get back to its old days?

It's not like Franklin was getting past the second and third rounds of the playoffs on a consistent basis. In fact Franklin in all their years of its school's existence has only got past the second round of the playoffs only ONCE.